Open Here

Open Here
Friday 28th October – Sunday 27th November
Monday to Saturday 10am – 8pm; Sunday 11am – 2.30pm
The Courtyard Centre for the Arts, Edgar Street, Hereford, HR4 9JR


Open Here is Hereford Photography Festival’s open submission exhibition. From over 300 applications, just 22 photographers were selected. The exhibited work represents some of the newest, most exciting work being made in the UK and internationally.

The selection panel included guest judges Simon Bainbridge (Editor BJP and curator Time & Motion Studies: New documentary photography beyond the decisive moment), Melissa DeWitt (editor Hotshoe magazine) alongside Caitlin Griffiths (Artistic Director of Hereford Photography Festival) and Nina Gustavsson (Hereford College of Arts).

One photographer will be awarded a £2,000 commission to make new work for exhibition in next year’s festival. The winner will be announced on Friday 28th October.
Visitors to open here can vote for their favourite photographer. The photographer with the most votes at the end of the exhibition will be awarded The Public’s Prize of £200.

Alberto Maserin, Alex Currie, Barry Cawston, Celine Marchbank, Chiara Tocci, Cordelia Weedon, Corinne Silva, Douglas Ljungkvist, Elisa Noguera, Enrico Abrate, Jenny Hardy, Jim McKeever, Jo Gane, Jo Metson Scott, Jon Wyatt, Kelly Hill, Liz Orton, Lydia Goldblatt, Martina Geccelli, Marysa Dowling, Thomas Ball & Toby Coulson.

Douglas Ljungkvist

Chiara TocciChiara Tocci